BRM Music Logo

Fun Boy Three

The Specials are one of the most popular and influential bands in the UK. Their success culminated with the prophetic ‘Ghost Town’, which spent three weeks at No.1 in the summer of 1981. After its release Terry Hall left The Specials along with the group’s two other vocalists, Lynval Golding and Neville Staples, forming the Fun Boy Three.

Reducing the ska sound that they and Jerry Dammers had crafted with great success, the Fun Boy Three took a more minimal approach, focussing mainly on percussion and vocals. They released their first single, ‘The Lunatics (Have Taken Over the Asylum)’, which peaked at No.20 in 1981. In 1982, the group charted again with ‘It Ain’t What You Do (It’s the Way That You Do It)’, a duet with Bananarama on an old Jimmie Lunceford song.

The Fun Boy Three finally released their eponymous debut in the spring of 1982. That summer, they had a hit with a cover of George Gershwin’s ‘Summertime’. The group recorded a second album with Talking Heads leader David Byrne later that year, resulting in the Waiting LP. Released in the spring of 1983, concurrently with the top ten singles ‘The Tunnel of Love’ and ‘Our Lips Are Sealed’.

See More