BRM Music Logo


UFO’s success story began in London in 1969, when vocalist Phil Mogg, drummer Andy Parker, guitarist Mick Bolton and bassist Pete Way formed the group. The band distinguished themselves with an unmistakable style, typified by numbers such as ‘Prince Kajuku’, ‘Follow You Home’ and ‘C’mon Everybody’ from albums: UFO 1, Flying and UFO Live. Their global breakthrough arrived when German guitarist, Michael Schenker, joined the fold in 1973, having left his band Scorpions.

UFO released three consecutive rock classics with Schenker: Phenomenon, Force It and No Heavy Pettin’, featuring classics like ‘Doctor Doctor’, ‘Shoot, Shoot’, and ‘Rock Bottom’. Following the arrival of keyboarder and rhythm guitarist Paul Raymond, UFO released two studio albums: Lights Out in 1977 and Obsession a year later, which included hit singles ‘Too Hot To Handle’, ‘Lights Out’and ‘Only You Can Rock Me’.

Their live cut, Strangers In The Night, landed in 1979 and is referred to by the press as one of the best live releases of all time, whilst also signalling the end of the Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker & Raymond line-up. The reorganised band underwent changes marked by various eras and numerous line-up adjustments.

To everyone’s surprise autumn 1993 saw the return of the former UFO line-up, consisting of Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker and Raymond. This re-assembled classic line-up brought out Walk On Water, UFOs first joint effort after one and a half decades; a world tour soon followed. The UFO albums Covenant and Sharks, recorded by Mogg, Way and Schenker, arrived at the stores in 2000 and 2002. Now the band consists of two original members: Phil Mogg and Andy Parker, plus classic-era Paul Raymond and American guitar slinger Vinnie Moore – the perfect complement.


See More